Members area

News and Articles

Wednesday. 24 January 2018

EDSO’s Nikos Hatziargyriou takes chairmanship of ETIP SNET

At the 8th meeting of the Governing Board of the European Technology and Innovation Platform for Smart Networks for the Energy Transition (ETIP SNET) on 24 January 2018, Nikos Hatziargyriou started his chairmanship of the platform. He succeeds Konstantin Staschus, ENTSO-E Chief Innovation Officer, who has been Chairman of the ETIP SNET since its creation in July 2016.

As CEO of HEDNO, Greece’s Distribution System Operator (DSO), Nikos Hatziargyriou has been a Member of EDSO’s Board of Directors since 2015. A prominent researcher, he has also been working as a Professor at National Technical University of Athens (NTUA) since 1985, participating in more than 60 research projects. In parallel, he has held membership and mandates in national (Athens Academy of Science, Greek Centre of Renewable Energy Sources), European (ETP Smart Grids, ETIP SNET) and international fora (CIGRE, IEEE).

In the framework of the Strategic Energy Technology Plan (SET-Plan), the European Union’s RD&I master plan, the ETIP SNET gathers all relevant stakeholders to elaborate a European innovation strategy towards a smart integrated energy system.

Since its establishment in 2016, the ETIP has already delivered several key publications, such as a 10-year Research & Innovation Roadmap (2017-2026) and its Implementation Plan for 2017-2020. These documents aim to identify the necessary research & innovation priorities to advance the energy transition.

In mid-2018, the ETIP SNET will complete and publish its Vision for the European energy system by 2050. About this challenging work, Nikos Hatziargyriou declared: “we aim to give a comprehensive perspective on what the energy system will look like by 2050, how the energy transition will have changed the everyday life of European citizens and what it will take to get there. Providing such an overview and then realising it are two exciting challenges, and the ETIP SNET has proven that with all the right stakeholders around the table, we can make this plan become true.”

Prof. Hatziargyriou will serve as Chairman for a 18-month mandate. He will be assisted by Thierry Le Boucher, Vice-President of EASE, and Konstantin Staschus as Vice-Chairpersons. Two other Vice-Chairpersons who rotate on an annual basis are as well assisting the chairman: these currently are Maher Chebbo, chairman of ETIP SNET WG4 and Emmanouil Kakaras chairman of ETIP SNET WG5. Guido Guida, Chair of ENTSO-E’s Research, Develoment and Innovation Committee is scheduled to replace Konstantin Staschus in June 2018.

More information about the ETIP SNET can be found on

About the ETIP SNET

The ETIP SNET role is to guide research, development and innovation to support Europe’s energy transition with innovation for the transmission and distribution systems. These systems form the technical and market platforms where clean electricity generation, empowered customers, storage technologies, smarter grids and interfaces to gas, heat and transport networks make the energy transition happen in secure and affordable ways.

Marie Latour
INTENSYS4EU Project Coordinator
Tel: +32 (0) 2 513 81 22


Download Press Release in PDF

< Back to all entries