Members area

Working groups


Storage technologies and sector interfaces

Work Group 2 addresses the technological and market developments related to energy storage solutions to ensure the required level of flexibility for the transmission and distribution of electricity. It will consider all the different energy storage options, including power-to-power, power-to-gas, hydro and marine storage, CAES, thermal mass of buildings, hot water storage, etc., and their direct or indirect interface and interaction to the power networks. WG2 covers the entire value chain of all energy storage options, starting from the development and demonstration of new materials, technologies and solutions, and addressing their integration into the overall energy system, the evaluation of their impact on flexibility and the related costs/benefits.

Please download the full Terms of Reference here.


Yves Schlumberger EDF


Carlos Arsuaga CIRCE
Cristina Gomez ENTSO-E

WG members:

Rodrigo Alvarez IBERDROLA Renewables
Tugrul Atasoy Enerjisa Electricity Distribution
Jean-Baptiste Bart EDF / R&D Division
Mathilde Bieber Stadtwerke München
Silvia Bodoardo Politecnico Torino
Patricia Bonet REE
André Botelho EDP
Jeroen Büscher VITO/EnergyVille
Yulong Ding University of Birmingham
Jan-Hendrik Ernst Maxwell Technologies
Gerard Finneran GLENDIMPLEX
Raquel Garde CENER
Cristina Gómez ENTSO-E
Seppo Hänninen VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland Ltd
Atle Harby SINTEF Energy Research
Kedar Kolharkar TenneT TSO GmbH
Joris Koornneef TNO -Netherlands Organisation for applied scientific research
Michael Kuehne SIEMENS
Claire Lajoie-Mazenc RTE
Pio, Alessandro Lombardi FRAUNHOFER IFF
Erwin Marckx EUROBAT
Carsten Mende VOITH HYDRO
Oscar  Miguel Crespo   IK4-CIDETEC Research Centre
Mathias Noe KIT
Stefan Nykamp Westnetz
Jesus Palma IMDEA Energy Institute
Lorenzo Rambaldi ENEL Green Power
Christophe Rigollet GIS GEODENERGIES
Denis Thomas Hydrogenics Europe NV
Arjan Wargers ElaadNL
Stefan Zunft German Aerospace Center (DLR)