Members area

Working groups


Flexible Generation

Work Group 3 addresses the business and technology trends considering the contribution of generation flexibility from conventional thermal power plants (bulk and distributed), and of the innovative technologies and solutions in thermal-based high efficiency generation systems(e.g. micro-CHP, industrial co-generation), heat distribution (e.g. district heating), storage and the optimization of the Renewable Energy Sources (RES) capabilities to contribute to reach a secure, clean and reliable energy system network storage to address the needs for flexibility in the framework of an integrated energy system.

RES should significantly contribute to a more stable operation of the future energy system, allowing a growing percentage of renewable sources to substitute traditional dispatchable generation. WG3 will address the different technologies and solutions of the flexible generation (including conventional power plants, embedded storage and fuel cells) and variable RES optimisation from a technological, environmental, economic, regulatory and acceptance points of view.

Please download the full Terms of Reference here.


Alexander Wiedermann MAN Diesel & Turbo SE


Carlos Herce Prodesa
Martin Pogoruetz Andritz & Energy Technologies Europe

WG members:

Antonio Cammarata Czech Technical University in Prague
Bruno Lacarriere IMT Atlantique
Carlos Izquierdo Red Eléctrica de España (REE)
Christian Bergins Mitsubishi Hitachi Power Systems Europe GmbH
Diana Strauss-Mincu Fraunhofer IWES
Edgardo Coda Zabetta Amec Foster Wheeler
Eduard Minciuc University Politechnica of Bucharest
Iarno Brunetti ENEL Produzione
Kaj Portin Wärtsilä Corporation
Martijn Bongaerts Liander NV
Matthias Finkenrath Kempten University of Applied Sciences
Michael Ladwig G.E., on behalf of EUTurbines
Miguel Garagorri Miota Iberdrola
Olaf Bernstrauch Siemens Power and Gas Division
Peter Breuhaus International Research Institute Stavanger (IRIS)
Peter Jansohn Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI)
Peter Stettner ANDRITZ HYDRO
Ralf Grether VOITH HYDRO
Uwe Ruedel Ansaldo Energia Switzerland Ltd