Members area

Working groups


Digitisation of the electricity system and Customer participation

Work Group 4 addresses the use and impact of the Information and Communication Technologies as a pervasive tool along the entire value chain of the power generation, transportation and use. The communication layer is one of the pillars of the smart energy system, enabling system observability, monitoring, control and protection, specifically enabling a radical change in the relation between the final user and the energy system. New digital tools (i.e. from smart meters to social networks) linked to the Internet of Things will aim to favour Customer participation in all stages of the development and expansion of the energy system thanks to the analysis of big data generated. The widespread use of digital technologies however needs to be accompanied by suitable measures for data and information protection from malicious intrusions and attacks (cybersecurity) and from uncontrolled use of customers data (data privacy). In particular, WG4 follows on:

  • – The full digitalization of both the transmission and the distribution networks with new ICT infrastructures Cybersecurity issues linked to Use of big data, IoT and High Performances Computing;
  • – ICT infrastructures and technologies that will allow the involvement of the end customers and the retail market players;
  • – The retail electricity markets empowering customers (favourable environment to choose electricity suppliers and to better control consumptions through new services provided by new market players);
  • – The Improvement of public awareness of long-term energy challenges and the need to build and protect transmission infrastructure to increase the social benefit of energy use.


Please download the full Terms of Reference here.


Maher Chebbo General Electric –  ESMIG


Miguel Sanchez Fornie  Comillas University
Esther Hardi  Alliander

WG members:

Aitor Amezua ZIV Automation
Liam Beard VODAFONE Group
Aimee Betts-Charalambous Smarter UK and Internet of Things Programme
Yvonne Boerakker TKI URBAN ENERGY
Theo Borst DNV GL
Elena Boskov-Kovacs Blueprint Energy Solutions
Paula Carroll UCD Energy Institute
Miguel Carvalho WATT-IS
Norela Constantinescu ENTSO-E
Bertrand Cornélusse University of Liège
John Dalton DIT
Philippe Desbats CEA TECH/LIST
Aris Evangelos Dimeas National Technical University of Athens
Jean-Luc Dormoy VESTA-SYSTEM
Dominik Engel Salzburg University of Applied Sciences
Jesús Fraile-Ardanuy Universidad Politecnica de Madrid
Peter Fröhlich AIT Austrian Institute of Technology
Guillaume Giraud RTE
George Huitema TNO
Ludwig Karg B.A.U.M. Consut GmbH
George Kariniotakis MINES ParisTech/ARMINES
Gerhard Kleineidam University of Bayreuth
Risto Kosonen Aalto University
Silke Krawietz SETA Network
Henric Larsson Vattenfall Eldistribution AB
Christian Lechner ENV AG
Kari Mäki VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland
Mantzaris Mantzaris HEDNO, Hellenic Distribution Network Operator
Mark Mcgranaghan EPRI, Electric Power Research Institute
Marcus Meisel TU Wien
Chris Moller EVONET
Asier Moltó Llovet REE
Jean-François Montagne ENEDIS
Antonello Monti RWTH Aachen University
Ana Carina Morais EDP Distribuição
Antonio Moreno-Munoz Universidad de Cordoba
Daniel Mugnier TECSOL
Peter Nemcek cyberGRID GmbH & Co. KG
Santiago Otero Peña ENEL
Caroline Plaza SUNCHAIN
Sandra Riaño TECNALIA
Liliana Ribeiro EDP Distribuição – Energia, S.A
Joshua Roberts RESCOOP
Juha Röning University of Oulu
Rémy Rousset Wivaldy
Moamar Sayed Mouchaweh High National Engineering School of Mines – MINES PARITECH
Marco-Robert Schulz SIEMENS
Peep Siitam VOOL EE
Bruno Soares R&D NESTER PT
Eric Suignard EDF R&D
J.-Christian Toebermann FRAUNHOFER IWES
Salvador Trujillo IKERLAN
Mathias Uslar OFFIS- Institute for Information technology
Tamara Valladolid DELOITTE
Manolis Vavalis University of Thessaly
Pieter Vingerhoets ENERGYVILLE
Arjan Wargers ELAAD NL
Malcolm Yadack Stadtwerke Tübingen GmbH
Yan Zhang University of Oslo